Week 37 – ‘Holiday’

by Frank Hamilton

Recently my entire life seems to have become a series of to-do lists – which is good in the obvious sense of proactivity but bad in the sense that I can’t dedicate more time and energy to certain things –  ‘This weeks blog’ (item 4 on todays list) being one of them.

Week 37 has been rather forgettable to be honest.  I spent most of it being under the weather, trying and failing to write songs and generally hating life.  As you’d expect it’s the songs that bug me the most and right now there are 3 or 4 crackers that I can’t quite seem to finish – and it’s driving me piano loco.

I think a lot of it comes back to looking after myself better – when I eat and sleep well the songs come easier, as does my general zest for life.  I’m not saying I’d like to go on a full detox over-night and start hitting the gym every morning but I do need to start taking my body and it’s health more seriously.  The problem is that I’ve never been very good at eating or sleeping and I’d consider myself an expert in smoking and staying up late.

I’ve said all this before (it’s hardly rocket science) and that makes it even worse.  I hate myself for running away from the problem and that state of mind won’t change until I turn around and look it square in the face.

With that in mind I’ve devised a simple, 3-step plan:

  • Step 1 – Pre-order my first ever iPhone.
  • Step 2 – Get organised.  Eat, sleep and feel better.
  • Step 3 – Receive iPhone and live happily ever after.

Step one has already been taken care of and phase 2 has begun.  Feeling better already.  Let’s move on to the song…

The Blurb:

Needless to say, ‘Holiday’ is about a holiday romance.

If you haven’t been on holiday and fallen head-over-heels in the space of week then I feel a little bit sorry for you.  Let me explain…

Everything is better on Holiday – from the food, to the weather, to your parents banter.  Everything’s just a bit more special when you’re in a foreign country and don’t have to get up for work the next day.  No-one knows why.  They’re just the rules.

Romance, similarly, is on another level.  It was just over 3 years ago and I was only in Spain for a week but I still remember it so well.  From the awkward meeting at Cabo Roig, to the cute Irish accent I kept imitating, to the seemingly impossible pool shot I fluked which sealed the deal.  Amazing.

We kept in touch for a while and always said we’d meet up but we never did.

The funny thing about romance is that you can put the word ‘holiday’ before it and things change.  Meaningless encounters become significant, 5/10’s become marriage material and picture-postcard memories become distorted over time.

Maybe it’s because we only pack the best bits of ourselves in to the suitcase or maybe the sea air messes up our brains?  Either way I’d do it all again in a heartbeat and I could really use some sun.  Take me back to holiday?

Fat chance. Maybe next year.

Favourite Lyric:

“I left my head on the flight
You’re in my mind but you’re out of sight
I left my heart at the beach
You’re in my mind but you’re out of reach”

